She was slow to heal

mattclements

‘We’ll float on alright’ by Matthew Clements

She was slow to heal
So slow, she spent countless nights wrapped in my arms
crying over something that happened ages ago.

I couldn’t  make her better…
I couldn’t walk away either…

And it began to chip away at my patience

There were times when I almost gave up on her
Almost threw us away
Almost

I am glad I didn’t
For though she took pretty long, she finally did heal

Now, I see her in all her glory
And bow down to the supreme love she showers upon me.

And now I know
Why the brightest stars
Burn before they Shine.

Photograph by Matthew Clements

Leave a Reply

